How do you get your record expunged in NC?
The expungement process is initiated by filing the petition form in the county where the arrest occurred.
A petitioner may contact the clerk of court or contact a private attorney regarding the procedures for filing the petition form..
Who can see expunged records in NC?
An expungement is when a judge orders a record sealed so the public cannot see it. The purpose of the expungement is to seal a record as if the charge or conviction had never occurred. While the SBI, and soon prosecutors, can see it, the public cannot.
What crimes can be expunged in NC?
List of Crimes You Can Expunge in North CarolinaWere arrested but never charged.Went to court and were found not guilty.Had your identity stolen and were falsely accused of a crime.Went to court and had your case dismissed.Were found guilty of certain misdemeanors.Were found guilty of certain nonviolent Class H or Class I felonies.
How many times can you get an expungement in NC?
State law no longer limits how many expungements a person may secure at once. However, multiple expungements are only permissible if the convictions occurred within 12 months of each other. Prosecutors and law enforcement officials will retain access to all records.
How much does it cost to get your record expunged in NC?
For some types of expungements, there is no filing fee. For example, if the charges were dismissed by the court without a deferment, or if you were found not guilty there is no filing fee. For other expungements, the courthouse will charge a filing fee of $175.00.
How long does it take to expunge a record in NC?
six to twelve monthsHow long does it take to get an expungement in North Carolina? This entire expungement process can take anywhere from six to twelve months. And while that may seem like a long time, the wait is well worth the peace of mind you will have knowing that your charge(s) have been expunged.